Eastern Visayas

Eastern Visayas RegionEastern Visayas is one of the two regions of the Philippines having no land border with another region, MIMAROPA being the other, and is designated as Region VIII. It consists of six provincesand one city, namely, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Leyte and the City of Tacloban. These provinces and city occupy the easternmost islands of Visayas: Samar, Leyte and Biliran. The regional center is Tacloban City. Eastern Visayas directly faces the Pacific ocean. There is also an idea of separating Biliran-Leyte and Samar as a region and creating a new region – the Samar Region (Region VIII-A) consisting the provinces of Samar, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar and South Samar (official name: Timog Samar) and the City of Catbalogan as its regional capital. But today the said idea has not been realized. Eastern Visayas, particularly the island of Samar, because of its geographical location is always hit by typhoons.


TyphoonThe region belongs to Type-B climate, which is basically wet to very wet with no pronounced dry season. Sometimes during rainy or windy seasons the weather is experiencing least colder, By nightfall the ice fog, mist or haze occurs bringing out the cold in the province.


Eastern Visayas is primarily an agricultural region with rice, corn, coconut, sugarcane and banana as major crops. Its total land area is 21,431.7 km². 52% of its total land area are classified as forestland and 48% as alienable and disposable land.

Natural Resources

The region’s sea and inland waters are rich sources of salt and fresh water fish and other marine products. It is one of the fish exporting regions of the country. There are substantial forest reserves in the interiors of the islands. Its mineral deposits include chromite, uranium(in Samar), gold, silver, manganese, magnesium, bronze, nickel, clay, coal, limestone, pyrite and sand and gravel. It has abundant geothermal energy and water resources to support the needs of medium and heavy industries.



Waray-Waray is spoken on the island of Samar, Biliran and the province of Leyte both of these languages are called Visayan by their speakers. A Samar language, distantly related to the languages of the region, called Abaknon is spoken in the island of Capul in Northern Samar.


Tinikling, the Philippines’ national dance is folkdance that originated from the region. But the most popular cultural dance among Warays is the Curacha, danced during feast celebrations and special gatherings. The Leyte Kalipayan Dance Troupe, a local cultural group, held highly successful performances around the world.


Waray people are music lovers whose folkloric music are mostly ballads in form, famous of which is “Dandansoy” while “Iroy nga Tuna” (Motherland) is a patriotic song.EconomyPrimary sources of revenue are manufacturing, wholesale and retail trade and services. Mining, farming, fishing and tourism contribute significantly to the economy Manufacturing firms include mining companies, fertilizer plants, sugar central, rice and corn mills and other food processing plants. Tacloban is the hub of investment, trade and development in the region.Other industries include mining, rice, corn and sugar milling, coconut oil extraction, alcohol distilling, beverage manufacture and forest products. Home industries include hat and basket weaving, metal craft, needlecraft, pottery, ceramics, woodcraft, shell craft and bamboo craft.


Eastern Visayas is home to several state universities, including the prominent University of the Philippines Visayas (UPV Tacloban College). The region is also home to the University of Eastern Philippines (UEP), located in Catarman, Northern Samar, which holds the most number of baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate courses among universities in the region. UEP is considered one of the most notable state universities in the country, offering programs in liberal arts, sciences, medicine, agriculture, education, and law. Eastern Visayas State University (EVSU) which is said to be the largest university in the region in terms of student population; it offers programs in engineering, technology, liberal arts, sciences, education, architecture, allied disciplines, entrepreneurship, business and graduate studies. EVSU is the only university in the region that offers undergraduate course in architecture; the university has its satellite campuses in Ormoc City; Tanuan, Leyte; Dulag, Leyte; Burauen, Leyte and Carigara, Leyte (soon in Pinabacdao Municipality).

The Zonal Agricultural University for the Visayas under the National Agriculture Education System concept, Visayas State University (VSU) is also in the region. Formerly known as Leyte State University (LSU) and Visayas State College of Agriculture (ViSCA), the University is home to high-caliber faculty and academic staff obtaining most of their local and international recognitions in research and development, 92 of whom are Ph.D. degree holders, 110 MS degree holders and 72 BS degree holders from reputable colleges and universities here and abroad. Standing on plains and hillsides of the more than 1,099-hectare campus are 193 buildings composed of academic departments, research and trainings centers, staff and student housing facilities and other vital structures. VSU is well known as a center for excellence in research and extension and has been collaborating with partner universities local and abroad to improve its capabilities. As proof of its excellence in instruction, the school have time and time again produced several board topnotchers in national licensure examinations for agriculture, agricultural engineering, geodetic and geomatics engineering, forestry, chemistry and veterinary medicine.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply


If you thought this page is useful to your friend, use this form to send.
Friend Email
Enter your message